17th Republican Attorney General Cases EPA for California Exodus

A few months after California reinstated its own greenhouse gas emissions rules, 17 Republican attorney generals have filed a lawsuit against the Environmental Protection Agency over the decision.

The lawsuit alleges that EPA Administrator Michael Reagan violated a principle of the US Constitution that gives states equal sovereignty. Basically, the Attorney General believes that not all states or anyone should be allowed to set their own emissions regulations under this doctrine.

“The law leaves California with only a fragment of its sovereign authority that Congress withdraws from every other state,” West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morris said in a statement, according to The Hill. “The EPA alone cannot selectively wave the law’s precedent for California because that bias violates the state’s equal sovereignty.”

Read more: EPA restores California’s ability to set vehicle emissions standards

When the EPA reinstated the waiver, it wrote that “the state of California needs ZEV sales mandate and GHG standards to address the mandatory and exceptional air quality situation,” according to Politico.

The specific waiver that allowed California to set its own greenhouse gas emissions standards and zero-emission vehicle sales mandate was introduced in 2013 when the state was attached to the rest of the country by standards. However, under the previous Republican administration, the waiver was revoked after the government tried to bring back emissions rules for the country.

Under the current Democrat administration, however, both the state and federal governments are working to bring back drastic emissions rules to address the accelerated climate crisis that has been warned by top scientists who have been described as “radical” by US Republican environmentalist Kathy Morris Rogers of Washington State. , According to Automotive News.

The lawsuit was filed by Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost, who has filed lawsuits against Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Texas. , And Utah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.