Toyota has scored its fifth consecutive win at Le Mans as the focus shifts to 2023

The 24-hour Le Mans was held over the weekend and Toyota Gaju Racing was the winner again.

In fact, they dominated the race with one or two finishes that saw S দলbastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Ryo Hirakawa’s team get the checkered flag after finishing 380 laps in their # 8 GR010 hybrid. This puts them 2: 01.222 ahead of their # 7 GR010 hybrid, which completed 380 laps and was driven by last year’s winners Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez.

Toyota noted that the lead had changed hands several times because “traffic, slow zones and track evolution have all been effective and the race has been abrupt and flowing.” Although cars were only a few seconds apart for most of the race, things changed at number 256 when the # 7 car had a problem with its front motor. Jose was able to reset a system and get the car back into the pit, where it was eventually further reset to fix the problem. However, later on, the # 8 GR010 Hybrid took the lead and was almost one lap ahead of their peers.

Also read: The Cadillac Project GTP Hypercar is a wild racer that precedes the Le Mans competitor.

In a statement, Akio congratulated the Toyoda teams, saying “this year Le Mans had 1-2 races from start to finish.” He noted that this was Toyota Gaju Racing’s fifth win in a row at Le Mans and thanked “many of our fans and partners who are continuing to fight together.”

Third and final place on the podium went to Glykenhouse Racing, whose # 709 007 LMH completed 375 laps with a team of Ryan Brisco, Richard Westbrook and Frank Melex. This puts them five laps ahead of their # 708 Glikenhouse 007 LMH, which was powered by Olivier Pla, Roman Dumas and Luis Felipe Derani.

The 2022 race is now in the books, all the attention is turning to 2023 It promises to be a memorable year as next year’s race will be a centenary celebration with a wealth of new competitors, including Cadillac and Ferrari.

Photo credit: Toyota

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.